Adding exception rules to Firewall Configuration (Gufw)

Because of some post about connecting mobile phones to ZorinOS and especially to Zorin-Connect or KDE Connect, I was wondering how to tackle this.

Whenever I connect my mobile phone to Zorin, I usually disable the Firewall connection for a while, this to be able to send/copy files from my phone to Zorin or vice versa.

It's been on my mind for a while now, thinking that whenever I disable the Firewall, my system is vulnerable and of course what if I forget to enable this. It's bothers me that my system does not have a significant notification nor can I see the Firewall setting in the taskbar or system menu.

While testing this with the Gufw app, I added a rule to the connection. I must admit that I have no experience with Firewall settings, so I used the preconfigured settings and added the rule for; Zorin Connect (it comes with dozens of other applications which to choose from).

Mine looks like this, but still I am not sure if I choose the right settings.

The options for the settings that needs attention are; Policy and Direction.

Policy - has 4 options: Allow, Deny, Reject and Limit
Directon - has 3 options: In, Out, Both.

Perhaps someone with the knowledge of Firewall settings can tell if the settings/rules are correct for the Gufw application?

BTW - I tested it with Policy: Limit and Direction: Both and it worked.
The Firewall settings were enabled and I am able to connect to my mobile phone without having to alter the Firewall.

I don't use Zorin Connect, and have no experience with it. Having said that however, your Firewall settings look right to me so far. I think you should give yourself more credit, cause your awesome.

1 Like

Well, thank you keeper of the Swartz.
But why am I awesome, because of the Firewall settings I have chosen?