Does being on 20.04 cause issues for anybody?

I am new to Zorin and really like the appearance, performance, and general interface.

I know my way around and have been on Linux for 15 years or so, but the real thing that keeps me from wanting to make this my primary Distro is 20.04 is so OLD at this point. By the time 22.04 support comes around it will be close to 24.04.

I just want honest assessments on if this causes problems or if I am worrying largely about nothing. I have ran into one small problem myself the deb version of Piper on the store does not even work anymore it is so outdated. I just used the Flatpak but I don’t want large difficult to solve issues effecting my work flow.

I do greatly value stability I just want to know if this is causing real world issues.

Opinions on this matter?

1 Like

None so far for me, other than some Gnome extensions only works for Gnome 4+

1 Like

True, I guess that is something worth mentioning but nothing I personally would be to concerned about. I imagine that will get a lot better on the next version when they get to version 40+

I just decided to setup Ubuntu 22.04 similarly. Took me all day but now I do not have to worry about it and can just upgrade at each LTS. Thank you for responding anyway. Maybe this thread will be helpful to someone

not having access to modern extensions is a big deal for me and many others as has been discussed in other threads. This OS, with all its amazing abilities, great features and enhancements, is 5 versions behind on Gnome.

The version of Piper in Software is not outdated. In fact, the developer recommends installing the .deb version as of the current date.
If you ran into an issue, you can contact the developer and file a bug report:

20.04 is a Long Term Release system that is Fully Supported until 2025 (which is two years from now) and has extended support until:

Currently, Zorin OS 16 is using a higher kernel than even Ubuntu 22.04 offers.

1 Like