HDMI output not working [Zorin OS 16 PRO]

Hi everyone,

I am new to the Zorin OS community and I am seeking some help with a display issue. I have been trying to connect my laptop to an external monitor via HDMI, but I have not been successful. I have already tried changing my drivers on the settings, but it did not solve the problem.

The only solution that worked was using a USB-C to HDMI hub, but the image quality is not great due to screen tearing. I am a Linux newbie, so I apologize for any mistakes I may have made.

My laptop is a Dell G15 with an i5 12500h and RTX 3050 graphics card. I am aware that Nvidia graphics cards do not always work well with Linux, but unfortunately I don't have many options in this case.

If anyone has any tips or suggestions on how I can fix this issue, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you in advance!

Gday @muryllo , Welcome to the community!
Zorin has a great Nvidia comparability range.
AMD/intel can be tricky.
In saying that can i ask you to plug-in the external monitor/ via usbc cable.
Open " Software Updater ", once it has loaded, click " Setting " at the bottom, goto " Additional Drivers " hopefully you see the drivers recommended in the list, if so select the driver & process with the Update, resart pc & try.

Q: Is this dual boot?

Note: some cheap usb cable may have trouble over distance.

2 Likes

Also some cables are directional. You might try flipping the cable around.
RTX 3050 on Zorin OS should be stably supported.
I have a 3060 which is Rockin'.

1 Like

https://www.dell.com/community/Inspiron/G15-5515-Dual-Screen-Setup/td-p/7892023
"Basically it seems that by default it only allows auto setup of one extra screen. I had to go into the Nvidia control panel > display > Setup multiple displays. Plugged in both, one was blank, then went and ticked them both on within the area that says "select the displays that you want to use" then hit save and then bang, both came on."