I get "Enter password to unlock key ring" pop up when opening ms edge

Hi, I am new to Linux and using zorin 15.3 lite. Every time I open a chromium based browser I get a pop up as in below

I don't know what keyring even means, please help to get rid of this!

Yes I have this all time. This is something collect all passwords.

here explanation. You can ofcourse off that function.

1 Like

Thanks for the article. Now I know what key ring means but as stated in the article they use a application "password and keys" which I can't find in zorin 15.3 lite even any other application related to it so how can I locate the key rings then ?

The article said Where is this keyring located? At the core, it’s a daemon (a program that runs automatically in the background).

You don’t have to ‘fight the daemon’ in the terminal. Most desktop environments come with a graphical application that interacts with this daemon. On KDE, there is KDE Wallet, on GNOME and others, it’s called Password and Keys
So what should I do?

Thanks,
Shyan

https://zoringroup.com/forum/5/7321/
here is old forum zorin how to remove that.

1 Like

I uninstalled it because it's annoying.
It has something to do with a app called Seahorse see here;

Uninstalled it by using the command;
apt --purge autoremove seahorse

That did it for me, never saw it again.

1 Like

You are getting this annoying popup because you have Chromium installed as either a snap Package or Flatpak.

1 Like

Thanks after this below command I am not getting pop ups anymore

sudo apt-get --purge remove gnome-keyring

But now I can't sign in to microsoft edge even after clicking "Sign in"button multiple times. The removal of the key ring has anything do with with this new problem ?

Here is near the same topic with keyring.
https://forum.zorin.com/t/authentication-required-on-reboot-asks-for-keyring/7275/4

1 Like