Installing Zorin OS Core on external/internal drive alongside Windows

Hello guys!

I have an Acer laptop with 512gb SSD NVMe drive on which is installed a Windows 10 Education OS. After researching about Linux distributions, Zorin OS seemed to be the most suitable Linux distribution for me. Also, many people had trouble when installing both Windows and Linux OS's on the same drive, so I decided to do a safer move: installing Zorin on a separate drive from Windows's. But I have a little problem: my laptop has just a single slot of memory, so I have to install Zorin on a external drive. What do you think, is it possible and safer this type of installation? Also, it is safer to make Windows drive external and Zorin drive internal? What should I keep in mind when installing and running a Linux OS alongside Windows OS? It is my first time when trying to make my laptop as a dual-boot Linux-Windows device, so I want to make it very safe and enjoyable also. Sorry for mispellings, I'm not a native English-speaker.

Thank you!

1 Like

If you are dual booting alongside Windows then you don't necessarily need a new storage device. Just create a partition of minimum: 20 GB, maximum: your wish how much you are willing to give to Zorin os

That is not true you can safely install windows and zorin on the same storage device
But install both in different partitions if you install Zorin in "windows c drive" it will wipe the drive so make another one other than c drive and install zorin in it

1 Like

I did that for a little bit, but went completely to Zorin. It is safe, but your time will be messed up it will be easier to fix it thru Zorin then thru Windows. Or you can do a external drive. Still might have the time issue, currently doing this and so far no time issues.

If i was in your shoes, I would have a second drive for both operating systems. The reason, is because that way you can still play around with both, and still have your storage space for each one.