Laptop lid problems (?) when booting

Hello, I am a Linux noob and just installed Zorin 16 Core on my laptop (Dell Inspiron 17-7779 64bits) as my main OS.
Every time I boot my computer or restart it, it shows a black screen that does not allow me to log in. However, when I close the lid and open it again, the black screen disappears and I can finally log in and use the system normally.

I do not know if this represents a problem, but closing and reopening my laptop lid every time I boot or restart my computer seems a bit odd.

Please help me :frowning:

This is a shot in the dark but:
Can you open terminal with the keyboard shortcut ctrl+alt+t. Then enter in

sudo nano /etc/systemd/logind.conf

Arrow key down to the line:

#HandleLidSwitch=suspend

And remove the hastag at the front to uncomment the line.
Hit ctrl+x to exit, then the y key to say yes to save, then the enter key to save as current configuration.

Reboot to test or run in terminal systemctl restart systemd-logind.service to test.

1 Like

It did not work :frowning:

When using systemctl restart systemd-logind.service , I am sent to the login screen. When rebooting I just reboot and have to close and reopen the lid again to access the login screen.

Well, it was a shot in the dark...
According to the specs of your machine, the graphics card is
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 940MX 2GB GDDR5 / Intel HD Graphics 620

Is this correct?
You can check with inxi

sudo apt install inxi

inxi -G

Yes :slight_smile:
Although I think the Intel graphic card is set as my main, according to inxi.
Screenshot from 2021-09-15 19-54-15

Here is my inxi -G readout...

Here is what I think the possible issue might be. Your inxi -G readout is basically telling us that you have both Intel HD integrated graphics, and you have Nvidia, just as I do. Cause those of us who own notebooks, generally, they come with two GPU's.