Login hangs after resuming from hibernation

I have been using Linux Mint for several years but decided to swap to Zorin (16 Core) and I have installed it successfully on a Asus K53 but I have a problem om my Lenovo Thinkpad X240. When I closed the lid and reopen it I have a normal login screen but no field to type the password. I can move the cursor but there's no respons clicking anywhere. Then after approximatelly 30 seconds the password field appears, I can login normally and everything works fine - until the next time I close the lid.

I've found out it's a problem on Ubuntu and often in combination with Nvidia - but mine has Intel graphics. I've tried several suggested solutions but none of them works. I have also tried to change some BIOS settings but they are also effortless.

This is really annoying since I like Zorin and everything else seems to work fine.

Hello dynaflux, welcome to the forum.

How much ram does the Lenovo have? Is the size of your hibernate partition double the size of your ram?

One idea is that the hardware is a bit dated and it's taking a minute to wake and load everything, hence the ram question. Another is that there is a programmed delay so that things are in place when you do log in. It's something that I'll have to look into.

The hibernate partition is recommended to be twice the size of your ram at minimum.

I have 8 GB RAM, checked the swap size is 2 GB. I'll try changing that.

For the most part, when you hibernate it attempts to store all of the session information... from os to applications running. So ensuring it is at least double the ram will help with that.

Because your ram is limited, you may want to ensure swap is also double the size of ram, maybe decrease the time to access it.

Also, as Harvey noted, if using hibernate, swap should be on a Swap partition, not the default Swap File auto-created by Zorin Installation.