Looking for recommendations on business accounting and management software

I am an aspiring copywriter, I am looking for software recommendations for the following: (I have and will do Google searches as well, but I would still like to hear recommendations from you guys.)

Billing, expense tracking, general accounting

Word processing, note taking, image manipulation

Time and task tracking

Thanks, and remember I am a noob. :slight_smile:

Billing and expense tracking:

• Quickbase
  • Midori & Seamonkey
  • TimeSolv

Word Processors:

• Libre Office (like MS Office)
  • OpenOffice (like MS Office)
  • AbiWord (like MS Word)
  • WPS Office (like MS Office)

Note taking:

• Joplin
  • Standard Notes
  • SimpleNote
  • TagSpace

Image Manipulation:

• Gimp
  • Krita
  • Pinta

Time/Task tracking:

• TimeCamp
  • Hamster
  • Toggl Track
  • ClickUp
  • GTimeLog

I use clickup, libreoffice and gimp. I used to use toggl, but clickup is better and easier to use.

I haven't needed to use expense tracking software as of yet. Gedit works fine for my note taking, and can recognize markup language (as well as several coding languages).

3 Likes

For double-entry book-keeping,

GNU-Cash

I used GNU-Cash for invoicing when I used to offer computer repairs in clients' homes.

Okular might be something to look at too. For example you could save a document created in LibreOffice Writer as a pdf and use Okular for adding annotations within the pdf and save as an Okular archive file or the annotations will be lost. I would also consider FreeOffice from SoftMaker Office.

For Image manipulation for me their is only one and that is GIMP. If you have ever been a user of JASC Paint Shop Pro (taken over by Corel) you can get PaintShop Pro 9 from the Internet Archive and run it under WINE.

You may also might want to consider Gantt charts for project tracking:

And sorting out thought processes,
View Your Mind which should be in the repos but can't check.

2 Likes