Missing options in Thunar File Manager

Hello, I recently installed zorin os 15.3 (lite xfce edition) and I just love it, everything works smooth like butter. I have one problem that is with the thunar file manager
I like the way it looks and feels, but I cannot find search and terminal option in it. After going through some searches, I came to know about an option called “configure custom actions” I tried to add terminal option with the following parameters:
Name: Open Terminal Here
Description: Opens terminal in current directory
Command: xfce4-terminal -cd %f
also added a terminal icon and clicked on “ok”, but when I right-click in thunar I cannot find the option, that I created. I don’t know how to add search option.

Please help me add both of those options as I am actually new to linux :blush:

1 Like

Welcome, CatNoir. I understand how you feel, those are among the first things I do upon a fresh installation.
For ‘Open Terminal’ command, please try:

exo-open --working-directory %f --launch TerminalEmulator

For "Search’ command:

gnome-search-tool --path=%f --contains=

I tried both of the commands you specified, but no extra option appears in thunar’s context menu (right click menu). Suppose even if the command given is wrong, then also the extra options should appear right?

I don’t know what is going wrong here, have tried to reinstall thunar earlier, but in vein :frowning_face:

For search, you might use the XFCE Catfish app

I do not understand why the custom command for terminal is nto working, either. I just tested this on two machines and it works on both.
You might try the command

x-terminal-emulator

Nothing comes in the context menu, is there any way to restore it to zorin os default thunar as when I had initially installed the os it had both terminal and search option but disappeared after 2-3 days of using zorin

The Thunar and Thunar-plugin packages are all present in the Zorin Repo. You might try installing them manually.