Problems with new install - Zorin 16 Beta

Hi

I am new to Zorin is.

I tried to install latest beta, 16 but stuck on installation of grub.

Both manual and default way of installation.

Google Photos

Don't know what to do anymore.

I have UEFI system, so I tried to use EFI partition also , 512 MB

Any suggestions please ? Thanks

I tried to redownload zip file. Check hash, all good, no errors.

Tried again new install , same issues

Google Photos

Update:

After all , I booted in live cd, and went to boot repair options ( recommended )
after that, my os booted :slight_smile: dont know why, but it seems that beta 16 can not install grub :frowning:

So is this right template :
EFI partition 512 MB
Root partition 220 gb
Home partition 220 gb

What about swap partition ? Is it better to use on Zorin partition or swap file ?

I have 8 gb ram, which is shared with graphics card, so it is basically 6 gb ram

I have just edited the title of this thread to highlight that it is Zorin 16 Beta installation that is being attempted and may then feedback to the devs.

1 Like

Thanks.. it more understandable now :slight_smile:

@zabadabadoo Btw do you know mine above question ?
I searched forum and went through different manuals, and in every found different answer.

Grub can fix with grub fixer in live CD, but the rest I am not sure

You find different answers because there is no solid answer. It's more 'preference' than 'science.'
Swap File is fine, but it does not really replace RAM. I have tested this... and bought more RAM. Setting up a swap file is perfectly sufficient for swap. Some suggest that having swap at the beginning of a partition makes it faster, as it is easier and faster to access when at the beginning of a partition, rather than somewhere in the middle or the end where the HDD actuator needs to move to.
HDD's move pretty fast. A human wouldn't notice the milliseconds.

2 Likes