Removing Windows partition for use by Zorin

Hi everyone! I'm a noob to Zorin/Linux so bear with me. After one baby heart attack (because IMO windows was still on my Lenovo laptop) I said WTH and went ahead and installed Zorin OS 16.

I accepted all the default things like hard drive partitions which may be an issue now for which I need your help. As in "hey noob, take these specific steps to fix your problem".

I've poked around and am already reasonable comfy with Zorin. Most things I've attempted work seamlessly so I am getting there! However when I go to load back the files I'd copied I get a note saying I haven't enough space to bring the files back.

Interesting since I took the files off this very laptop to begin with! I can see that Window's still occupies a huge partition but I don't know how to erase all that (100% OK with ditching Windows) and leaving this and other partitions as usable ones for Zorin.

I'm great a following directions but not so good at interpreting the myriad of words and thoughts I see that seem to pertain to my plight.

Any thoughts at all will be appreciated.

Can you install Gparted
sudo apt install gparted

then take a screenshot in Gparted to show us the current disk partitions?

OK so I installed gparted and on its first scan it came up with "could not stat device /dev/mapper/isw: untested metadata version 1.4.01 found on /dev/sda - No such file or directory.

Soon as I clicked on retry it came up with an offer to "fix" this. Like an idiot I did not capture that scree but now I am here at this screen.

I've yet to make a choice. Suggestions?

You have absolutely no Windows partition.

It is because of this that I realize Zorin is not seeing my reasonably sized HD, nor do I have any idea how to have Zorin use my entire HD.

Big thanks BTW. Your thoughts are greatly appreciated.

1 Like