Screen Tearing with Zorin 16 Pro

I just installed Zorin OS 16 Pro, and chose the open source drivers. (I have Intel XE Integrated) I am now facing really bad screen tearing. I'm still kind of new to Linux in general, but I have used it off and on. I decided to make the leap last night. I'm not too sure what I need to do, because I can't find anything to do with VSync in the display options. Any Ideas?

Could you please provide the output of sudo lshw -c video ?

Output:

*-display
description: VGA compatible controller
product: Intel Corporation
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 2
bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
logical name: /dev/fb0
version: 01
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pciexpress msi pm vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom fb
configuration: depth=32 driver=i915 latency=0 mode=2560x1600 visual=truecolor xres=2560 yres=1600
resources: iomemory:600-5ff iomemory:400-3ff irq:145 memory:601c000000-601cffffff memory:4000000000-400fffffff ioport:3000(size=64) memory:c0000-dffff memory:4010000000-4016ffffff memory:4020000000-40ffffffff

Neofetch calls it "Intel Device 9a49"

Ubuntu 20.04 no driver loaded for Intel Iris Xe Graphics - Ask Ubuntu has a link to some intel packages you could try installing and see if that fixes it.

PS - I understand you have a driver loaded but check out the intel link provided in the answer on that post.

Maybe try this too

sudo mkdir /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/
Section "Module"
    Load "dri3"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Intel Graphics"
    Driver      "intel"
    Option      "DRI"   "3"
EndSection
1 Like

So is xorg.conf.d the the name of the file I'm creating, or is it something else?

The file you are creating, by default there is a file called xorg.conf if you use nvidia

Ah ok, I was researching online and saw something like that but they didn't exist in the X11 folder so I was confused.

Open up terminal and write sudo -H nautilus
Navigate to /etc/X11/
Create a new file and name it xorg.conf.d