"Weather information is currently unavailable"

Newbie here!
What a great experience has Zorin OS been so far! By far the slickest distro I have ever used. Thanks for the hard effort.
Now to the issue: I would like to make the weather app work properly. For now it can not show any forecast and for most of the locations it wouldn't even find a real-time weather report. And in the panel it would only show the message: "Weather information is currently unavailable"
I saw that GNOME weather uses libgweather and it is already up-to-date (3.28) for Ubuntu 18.04.
There have been upgrades of libgweather (3.36) for Ubuntu 20.04 though, but I guess they are useless for Zorin OS 15.3?
Do you guys have any tips on how to make it work? I could probably try to use other weather apps, but they wouldn't be integrated as seemlessly as the default one. And they all seem to have their own little bugs anyway...

2 Likes

I dont have any issues with the default Weather app. Working fine, no issues.
Automatic and manually added location. From panels also.

Maybe try reinstall app ..

oh btw, I am on beta 16 Zorin :slight_smile:

1 Like

Can you try installing the Bionic up to date libgweather:
http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/libg/libgweather/libgweather-3-15_3.28.1-1_amd64.deb

Reboot after install or configuration and test.

1 Like

Thanks guys, I did install the Bionic update manually. And nothing changed. It seems that the proper fix is from a more recent version, which is only compatible to Fossa. So maybe that's why it worked for you on Zorin 16 beta...

2 Likes

It really should work with the Bionic update.

Looking at the Bug reports, it seems a commonly filed bug:

Across Distros:

Some blame NOAA, Others say it is a Gnome Shell bug.... Figures...
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1393700

1 Like

Oh, so you think I could install libgweather-3.36.0 / gnome-weather-3.36.1 although it doesn't seem to be supported by Bionic? Will give it a try and report back!