Wifi failing on *some* networks

I am new to Zorin, and am having a major problem with Wifi. I use networks in different buildings, the first works just fine. The second gives me a "activation of network connection failed" when I try to connect. The signal is showing as excellent, and I have other devices attached with no problems, so I am fairly sure there is nothing wrong with the network. As far as I can see the setting for the two networks are identical. As an experiment I have also tried to use the personal hotspot on a phone - that fails with the same error. Any suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Can you please post the output of

sudo lshw -C network

First to be considered: If you are using a network without any issues, but a different network is causing issues, you might check whether your own network settings are set to ipv4 or to ipv6

1 Like

Many thanks for the reply. The lshw gives me the following:

*-network
description: Wireless interface
product: BCM4321 802.11a/b/g/n
vendor: Broadcom Inc. and subsidiaries
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
logical name: wls4
version: 03
serial: 00:21:e9:dd:0f:5f
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=wl0 driverversion=6.30.223.271 (r587334) latency=0 multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11
resources: irq:16 memory:d0500000-d0503fff memory:d0000000-d00fffff
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: 88E8058 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
vendor: Marvell Technology Group Ltd.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
logical name: ens5
version: 13
serial: 00:22:41:29:38:f4
capacity: 1Gbit/s
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm vpd msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list rom ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=sky2 driverversion=1.30 latency=0 link=no multicast=yes port=twisted pair