Zorin installation by a Windows user - a comment

I just attempted to install Zorin on my Windows 10 (to dual-boot). I am not a computer newbie, having used computers extensively beginning in 1979. I have tried several times over the years to use Linux and unfortunately have stopped using the OS due to what I consider user-unfriendliness. Yes, the process has gotten better over the years. Yet, the current installation process is just as confusing as ever. When I'm asked what drive I want to mount, how do I want to manage my partitions and all of the other gobbledygook, it just impresses upon me just how much farther Linux has to go to become truly user-friendly. Again, I know what partitions are, I know what drives are, I know my hardware; none of these things are foreign to me. However the Linux way of referring to these objects is just too confusing for those 'not in the club'. I don't understand why Linux users would think this situation is acceptable. I know it's fashionable to hate on Microsoft and Apple... I hate them both too. But the alternatives are just not ready for 'regular' users like myself, in my opinion. Though I can play with computers, in my old age, I just want them to work. My days of wrangling with the hardware and software, enjoyable as they once were, are at an end. Can we please just have plug-and-play? Thanks. John

2 Likes

You raise some valid points that need addressing. Another user recently voiced confusion on the forum about how to identify the proper drive for installation.
That being said, however, there is a difference between The Familiar and User Friendly.
I could as easily suggest that those using Microsoft are “in a club of exclusion” with Microsoft being the only Operating System using notations like “c:” and “d:” and “f:” for drives - no other operating system does that.