Accessing NAS through Samba share

Hello everyone. I'm trying Linux again after a couple of years. Zorin OS looks great. I do however struggle to connect to my Thecus NAS.
It has a couple of browseable folders that are public. So I can easily connect from my Windows install.
From Zorin it's not that easy. The Files browser sees the NAS as "N4200 (Samba)" but it will not connect when I click it.
I installed samba, it runs when I check with ¨sudo systemctl status smbd".

What am I doing wrong here? I want to be able to backup to my NAS and access the music and pictures on it.

Hi and welcome to the forrm :slight_smile:

I have no knowledge about this particular product, but I have a home-made NAS (Open Media Vault).
I can connect to it in the file manager (Nautilus) without any additional application. I can also connect to it through the browser interface as well.

Screenshot from 2021-12-13 17-47-49

[edit]
title edited for clarification

Thank you for the reply. Did you do anything special when you installed samba to make it work?
I set the folders to 'public' on the Nas and allowed anonymous logins so theoretically I should be good.

I searched through my installed apps but I did not see any Samba related app in there :frowning:
You might have to wait for other volunteers to pitch in here to help you.
@Aravisian

Or others may be more helpful; I have never used Samda. Zorin OS does not include Samba by default.

Was it?
How come I can access to my NAS?
I can access to it not only from Zorin but also from Mint which also does not have Samba.

I am not sure... I do not use Windows or a Home network - we are venturing into territories I have only looked at over the fence.

@Wodkat

What do you see when you click on the plus sign in the left pane of file manager?

I did not include it in the previous screenshot.
But I do see Windows network is also listed - although I never use it.

Screenshot from 2021-12-13 19-00-45

Browse