After years of distro-hopping Zorin is now my daily driver!

I've been working in IT for a little over 10 years now, and have always had a fascination with Linux. Unfortunately I always felt like there was something missing or that one piece of software I needed just wouldn't work. I primarily used on my laptop since my needs were simple on that device.

I've been using Zorin for about 3 months and as of today is it now my daily driver on my main desktop. I've been able to get open-source alternatives for all of my software except one (which I got working in Wine). After setting on my shortcuts and some light terminal ricing I am all set to work off this system full time. Cheers to the Zorin team for making such an awesome operating system!

15 Likes

Hey, @prestonEP! :wave: :grinning:
Yeah, I completely agree with you. The Zorin design is awesome, and perfect for someone that is migrating from Windows. I am having small issues, but I know it's something that I can solve. And it's very cool to see that you could download Wine, I am having some headaches with it.
Oh, and the cellphone connection with the PC is so cool, right?

3 Likes

I actually have not used Zorin Connect yet but I'm going to give it a shot tonight.

I have used KDE Connect in the past and I enjoyed it. I trust whatever the Zorin team has put out will feel more polished though. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

You really should! It's very pratical. I feel in love with it the first time I tried, it was something new for me. I was like:
"WHAT? How can they do it? :open_mouth:"
It's nice to answer messages, seeing notifications or even making your cellphone ring to find it (not that I needed it :face_with_hand_over_mouth:).

1 Like

It's the same thing as KDE Connect, just different name.
I'm almost positive...lol

3 Likes

Hello PrestonEP, welcome to the Zorin forum, and to your stellar experience with Zorin OS 16 CORE! I really like it when we get to hear feedback from experienced users in IT.