Are you like me and Trying to Learn Linux?

I am new to Linux and have benefited greatly from the help and patience of the Forum moderators. But I am trying to learn more and become more self-sufficient. Maybe even return the favor and help others someday.

Last night I stumbled upon this website that has a lot of articles that I am finding helpful as a newbie to Linux. Maybe you will find the site useful too. The url I am sharing is for a page on Learning Linux. The drop-down on that page will route you to many other areas.

https://embeddedinventor.com/category/linux/learning-linux/

5 Likes

Here's another fine resource you may want to check out for learning Linux basics: BEGINNER'S GUIDE FOR LINUX - Start Learning Linux in Minutes

I discovered Linux back in 2001 and have never looked back. It's been so much fun and very empowering, learning all the things a person can do with this operating system.

3 Likes

For me it was about around the beginning of 2019. But the sentiment is the same, I feel like I missed out on when there was more user control.

2 Likes

Yes, once you get comfortable using the command line, it's difficult sometimes having to deal with a cumbersome GUI to slow you down. :wink:

1 Like

When I left Windows, I had only ever used the cmd prompt for ipconfig /release and ipconfig /renew.
For the beginning, I spent much of my time complaining about a Lack of GUI ability for many functions.
I began to really realize the difference when I willingly gave the terminal a chance. As I entered in commands in quick succession, completing tasks in a couple of seconds, I realize how cumbersome the GUI can be. Almost any GUI I use, I spend a lot of time just looking for the right button to push.
Using a GUI takes me ten times longer. And since a GUI application is not enabled with all the possible commands of the terminal, then I often end up reverting to the terminal for the raw power, anyway.