Audio not working on Lenovo - Zorin OS Pro 17

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Zorin OS Pro, first and foremost I want to congratulate you on the excellent distribution. I'm a distro hopper, and finally, I believe I've found the operating system that suits me and allows me to work peacefully.

That being said, I recently installed Zorin OS Pro 17 on my Lenovo Yoga Pro 16. Everything is perfect except for the audio; the bass is not working, and it's really unpleasant and barely audible.

I want to mention that this problem is mainly with Lenovo, which should update the BIOS to enable the DSP from there.

My sound card is the Realtek ALC287, and if you search on the internet, there are many discussions about it. I've tried various possible solutions, including compiling the Linux kernel 6.7 myself (I'd prefer not to do it again) because they said the problem was fixed by default from 6.6 onwards, applying patches, putting firmware in the lib directory, but nothing worked.

someone can help me?

Attached are the following information:

alsa-info:

http://alsa-project.org/db/?f=0595eedf07cc64e418a0b4303a15687cd6c00e1d

kernel:

6.5.0-17-generic

A simple option might be to try installing the 6.6.5 kernel without needing to compile it yourself. This is if you have Secure Boot Disabled in your BIOS / EFI settings:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:tuxinvader/jammy-mainline

sudo apt update && sudo apt install linux-generic-6.06

Once done, reboot. Ensure you are on the 6.6.5 kernel with

uname -r

Hi, thank you for the prompt response, unfortunately it didn't work.

uname -r
6.6.5-060605-generic

Perhaps it is not as fixed as they hoped... Or your issue is a different one.

You are spot on about the internet full of discussions on this...

https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=208555