Be gentle with the nOOb - Pro 16 Install freeze

HI guys, TOTAL Zorin/Linux nOOb here so I need a little help installing Zorin 16 Pro on my 2010 MacPro.
Computer setup: Dual Xeon CPU, 64GB RAM, 1TB SSD (for Zorin), EVGA GEFORCE GTX 770 video card. MacOS High Sierra is boot drive (separate SSD)
Have tried installing with and without additional files downloaded and with /without NVidia drivers and letting Zorin manipulate SSD as needed. Every time get hung up on "grub-install /dev/sdb". Sometimes it just freezes while installing (I've waited as long as an hour), others it shows a dialog box stating: "Executing 'grub-install /deb/sdb' failed. This is a fatal error." When I hit OK on the latter it opens another box that says the installation is complete (of course, it is not). Rebooting takes me to start the install again.
Any ideas are welcomed. However, don't forget the n00b part!! LOL

I have about 1 minute to make a post before heading out- but don't want you to be waiting too long.
The above suggests that you need to use rEFInd to install to a MacBook:

https://www.rodsbooks.com/refind/installing.html

Aravisian: Thanks for the quick answer. Going to the rEFInd site was good case of visual overload! LOL
I should have been clearer in the fact that I am not looking for a "conventional" dual-boot (ala Zorin boot screen/picker). I use Open Core to show me a list (icon) of all the EFI partitions available (currently Mojave and the one for the Zorin (USB) installer).
My eyes got cloudy (very fast :laughing:) looking at the (Linux-laden) explanation of what rEFINd does but imagine it communicates to the (Mac) boot sequence that Zorin is available(?). I believe Open Core would accomplish the same (since it does it for Zorin installation USB stick) once Zorin is installed but I cannot get there due to the error above.
Again, thanks for the info! :+1: