Can I switch from internal wifi card to USB adapter?

First off I would like to say I am extremely new to any Linux OS so I’m not quite sure what I’m doing yet. My current wifi card has almost no range (dropped the laptop and I have to be less that 5 feet away for it to keep a connection) and I would like to switch to my USB wifi adapter. The USB adapter I bought is the TP-Link AC600 (Archer T2U nano). I have tried googling and figuring it out on my own but I just can’t get it. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Based on https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/download/archer-t2u/#Driver I find https://static.tp-link.com/2018/201812/20181207/Installation%20Guide%20for%20Linux.pdf posted there. You could use the terminal commands on pages 4 and 5 to install and see if it works. I haven’t used a usb wifi adapter, so I can’t confirm the general procedure.

2 Likes

This is where I get a little lost. They say things like “Use Terminal to go to the driver directory and run the following commands to compile the driver.” and I have no idea how to do that. I’ve really only used windows and even basic stuff I’m not sure how to do yet. It also asks for my kernel version and I’m not sure how to tell that either. I’ve never felt so computer illiterate.

I know the feeling. When I first started using Zorin, I had never used any Linux distro before.
It was a couple weeks of chaos.
Now that I have learned a lot more about the system, I could never deal with Windows, again.

To open a terminal, hit the keys ctrl+alt+t at the same time.
Enter into the terminal

uname -r

This will tell you your kernel version.

Yes, I have that command memorized. Soon, you will memorize a bunch, too. But no one has all commands memorized, we just look them up or keep a handy reference in Documents folder.

I took a look at their instructions and yes- those instructions are very vague.