Cannot install Zorin OS 16

I’m new to Linux and switching from Windows because it wouldn’t work. Really want to install this OS but nothing happens when I click “Install Zorin OS 16”. Whenever i boot it from USB, an error “Nautilus File Manager not found: The Nautilus File Manager is mandatory to work with Desktop Icons NG” shows up. How do I fix this?

Welcome ecsperitgamar,

This sounds like a problem with the boot medium. Did you get Zorin from an official source, and what software did you use to create the USB ?

2 Likes

Agreed, this sounds like a corrupted ISO situation, or a bad USB drive situation.

First question, did you ensure that you checked the SHA256 checksum HASH on the ISO you downloaded before you burned it to the USB drive? Did it pass the checks?

Also, I hope the USB drive hasn't be overly used and is a fairly new USB drive.

Also, another thing that people often forget to do before installing a Linux OS, is to turn off two important things in their computers BIOS.

Please make sure you have SECURE BOOT and FAST BOOT disabled.

StarTreker

yoda
Your Tech Support Guru

1 Like

This bears repeating.

Fast Boot or Fast Startup must be disabled in the Windows Control panel - Power settings, before installing Zorin OS.

It is highly recommended to disable Secure Boot in the BIOS Settings.
Secure Boot is primarily for Windows.
It is only useful to have on if dual booting. But for installation of Zorin OS, you can disable it for install - then re-enable when done. You may have apps that need to enroll in Mok-Utils later if you do this, though.

@winged1 asked the right questions, too: Sounds like a corrupted download or burn to me, as well.
Recommend using Rufus to burn the .iso if on Windows.

1 Like

I got it from the official website, and used balenaEtcher to create the USB

I haven't checked it, I will try it.
The USB drive is not new but isn't overly used.

Thanks, I will disable those and try again