Can't connect to Tor or even visit any VPN websites

I’m brand new to Linux, so if this is some kind of “rookie mistake” I apologize in advance, but I cannot figure out what the issue is.

I’m using Brave browser, and it will not connect with Tor like it’s supposed to when using private windows. I also cannot visit the Tor website or any VPN website, and I know it’s not Brave because the same thing happens with Firefox. When I try to visit any VPN website, I get this error:

Your connection is not private

Attackers might be trying to steal your information from [website url] (for example, passwords, messages, or credit cards). Learn more

NET::ERR_CERT_AUTHORITY_INVALID

ReloadHide advanced

[website url] normally uses encryption to protect your information. When Brave tried to connect to [website url] this time, the website sent back unusual and incorrect credentials. This may happen when an attacker is trying to pretend to be [website url], or a Wi-Fi sign-in screen has interrupted the connection. Your information is still secure because Brave stopped the connection before any data was exchanged.

You cannot visit [website url] right now because the website uses HSTS. Network errors and attacks are usually temporary, so this page will probably work later.

I inserted “[website url]” where it lists whatever website I’m trying to access, ExpressVPN, NordVPN, ProtonVPN, Tor, etc.

I’ve been searching and cannot seem to find a reason for this to be happening. I thought maybe it had to do with the clock not syncing, because there was an issue with the NTP client or whatever, but I fixed that and the time is now synchronized and this error is still happening.

I’d really appreciate any help you guys could give me.

Could you open a terminal by hitting ctrl+alt+t and pasting in the following:

sudo apt update

sudo apt full-upgrade

Are you using Zorin Lite or Zorin Core?

What method did you use to install Brave Browser?