Cd/dvd drives do not appear in files

Sorry, I'm new to Linux, but been around windows and macs a long time. I just installed Zorin 16, with a VM for Windows (Virtual Box), and have two (2) problems. 1) I can't get my cd/dvd drives to show up in Zorin files. 2) can't find the usb or cd/dvd in my VM. I'm sure it's something I did wrong, but can't figure out what it is/was. Not having access to the drives means I can't install any programs to my VM.

Thanks for the suggestion, but when I right click the usb icon it says "no usb connected". Do you have any suggestions on having my cd/dvd drives show up in either Zorin or the VM?

This topic has been discussed multiple times on the forums and just in the past few days.

Whether on Linux, Win or Mac the solution is the same. You must install Guest Additions in the guest OS on VirtualBox. It depends on what guest OS (system ie: Win, Mac, Linux) you are running on VB as to which Guest Additions to install.

I think I installed all the Guest Additions, at least the ones Virtual Box showed. Are there other places to get additional ones? And will that help the cd/dvd drives show up in Zorin?

Ok, I just need to be clear:
Zorin OS is your main operating system, yes?
And Windows is your guest virtual machine?

I'm asking because you are saying you cannot see your cd/drives in Zorin... in which case, would have nothing to do with VB. Or are you saying that you can't see the drives of your VB Windows guest in your Zorin host? Because you don't see the drives of a guest machine on the host or vice versa. It doesn't work that way.

Normally, you install guest additions in your guest machine, which I think for you is Windows. Then create a folder in your host (on Zorin OS) to share files between them. Then in VB while the guest is closed (not running), click settings

Then click "shared folders" on the left and add the new folder you just created in Zorin by clicking the icon on the right.