Discussing [RULES OF THUMB] Will my computer run Zorin OS?

I'm only new to the Zorin OS community, less than 24 hours, andt I have to say my experience so far with the advice being offered is genuinely refreshing and amazing. This post is a perfect illustration of that.

Ironically, it is about the only one I feel able to offer a contribution. For me, there are 2 key issues to keep in mind when comparing performance differences between OS's and apps:
1. How much RAM does you have in your PC?
2. Do you have a mechanical Hard Drive or an SSD?

Budget and old PC's typically only have 4gb of RAM at best and / or use old mechanical Hard Disk Drives (HDD). My rule of thumb (especially for Windows) is to double the minimum amount of RAM specified.

So, if you only 4gb of RAM, you are likely to be better off trying Zorin OS Core (2gb min) or Lite (512kb) than Windows 10 (4gb min) due to their respective memory usage.

In a similar fashion, if you only have a HDD, but also have USB 3.0 ports, using a portable USB 3.0 SSD as your boot drive is likely to give better performance than the old HDD. (Although getting a SSD installed internal is obviously even better!)

2 Likes

Hello DbJones! I totally agree. I'n these modern times, (2021) computers now come with quad core CPUs as standard. If they are super budget class, they will be a core I3 model, which is usually seen in 13" netbooks.

Bare minimum SPEC is 6GB now. You will find however, your average 15" business machine is going to have Core I5 CPUs with at least 8GB of RAM.

Midrange gaming machines in the 15" size will have 6 core I5 CPUs and at least 16GB of RAM. Their going to have either 1650, 2060, or 3060 graphics.

High end machines like mine in the 17" class are 8-Core I7 CPUs, 32GB to 64GB of RAM. They have either 3070's or 3080's for graphics.

Top of the line, well that's going to be a 12-Core or more I9 CPU, with 64GB to 128GB of RAM, and a 3090 graphics GPU.