DOTA 2 graphical problems with major stutters

Hello dear friends!

I am new to the Zorin Community. I hope you will forgive if i missed the right topic/section.

I have a problem with dota 2 game. I have major graphical and stutter problems.
I will try to explain you behavior of the game: When the game loads, major stutter begins, (feels like it is struggling to load some resources needed for graphics) after 20-30 seconds it becomes normal but i still see that there is a small stutters. When u enter the match again major stutter begins same as i said before. Later it becomes a little playable but still on low graphics. I tried bunch of options: installed open source mesa drivers and installing proton and steamplay for DOTA2. Nothing has changes i even believe that game worked slightly better when OpenGL option is checked than Vulkan.

I am pretty sure this is graphical problem with a drivers or smth.
If i can get any help i would be very thankful.
I love ZorinOS so much i just dont want to change it to other Distros.

These are my specs: iMac 2010/12GB ram/Mobility Radeon HD 5850/Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU 760 @ 2.80GHz/HDD 1TB + 250SSD/

Big thanks in advance and have a nice day!

Hi and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

I am not a gamer myself but there are several volunteers here who are knowledgeable about gaming.
I hope some of them come to this thread to help you.
@Michel @StarTreker @Storm

2 Likes

I have more Nvidia knowledge since I use Nvidia based GPU's, have 0 knowledge of modern AMD GPU's. What I do know is, your going to need to make sure you install your driver for your GPU.

I found your driver here...

Also, is DOTA installed through Steam? Cause if it is, your going to need to use Steamplay Proton compatibility in order to get the game running properly as well.

If your instead playing the game from Lutris, well, only Michel can help you there. I am going to bed, so I am not going to be posting screenshots yet again.