Firewall in zorin

so i want to know about setting up firewall in zorin os light.
so basically i am new to this linux os, and i have set my firewall to Status=On, Incoming=Deny, Outgoing=Allow. and i want to know am safe with this settings?? please help

1 Like

Hello switchedfromwindows, welcome to the forum.

Relax, you're safe. This is the default simple setup. When you have time read up on network infrastructure and firewall configuration with ipsec if you want better understanding and the ability to write your own rules.

The basic firewall, once turned on, denies all traffic initiated from the network. The allow is anything your machine initiated.

This means your machine has to make the original connection and request for whatever. It will allow responses to those requests from the network, but it has to be a response.

If anything from the network attempts to establish a connection to your computer, it will be dropped. You must initiate any and all communication. But just like a phone, if you call a call center, expect spam calls for a while.... be careful what you click and what you download. Don't believe everything in your email, social media or internet page unless it's from a reliable source or posted the same on a reliable source. Linux is far safer than windows, still mostly not needing an antivirus software.

Be careful what you click,
your actions on the internet is what will make your firewall fail. True Story

1 Like

Is there a way to understand the firewall settings to get the right settings? I'm a bit confused about setting up a firewall.