HDMI-Port not working

Hey there,
I'm fairly new to Zorin and linux as a whole and I just can't seem to figure out how to connect my system to a TV/Monitor via hdmi. I'm using a Lenovo Ideapad 330s with the GTX1050... Zorin just doesn't seem to recognise the second display. It acts like I didn't plug in an hdmi cable. It has to be a Software issue since it is working fine using Windows. I'm very thankful for any responses.

What is your graphics card? Are you using Nvidia?

sudo lswh -c video

Are you logging in on Wayland?

1 Like

Welcome to Zorin OS XtremeHuhn! :slightly_smiling_face:

OK, I am going to have you click on the Zorin :zorin: icon bottom of screen, then please click settings. Scroll to Display, click on it.

Now in your display menu, if you have a second display connected, you should see it here. The 2nd display might be turned off, so you will have to turn it on via a toggle.

Also, you say you have a Nvidia GTx1050 GPU, that is your discreet GPU, do you have your Nvidia drivers installed?

If you have selected your Nvidia driver, then you should also have the Nvidia X Server Settings APP on your system. Click the Zorin icon again, type Nvidia, click on Nvidia X Server Settings. You should see this on this tab, you can also manage your displays here as well.

I hope this helps...

1 Like

Ah... see, I missed that.:stuck_out_tongue:

2 Likes

Yes you did, but I chose not to rub it in, you've been through enough today, as I have since learned after waking up. So sorry Aravisian. Hugs :hugs:

thanks for your in depth answer!
sadly the second screen doesn't show up...

I think it might be an issue with the nvidia driver since when I open Nvidia X Server Settings only this shows up: nvidia x server settings

1 Like

You are very welcome, I try to be as helpful as I can. It doesn't always work, but at least I try.