Help setting up a Japanese Kana keyboard

Heya. I'm very new to Zorin and switch between it and Windows a lot depending what machine I have with me. I have a Japanese keyboard that allows for switches between romaji, hiragana, and katakana input that I've been using to learn how to touch-type Japanese via direct hiragana/katakana entry. So far, so good.

My problem starts when I try to install any Japanese language pack on Zorin. Installation works fine, but regardless of which I use (Mozc, etc) I'm not getting the keyboard functionality that goes with the physical keyboard

The closest so far is ibus-mozc, but the hiragana input on Mozc isn't hiragana entry (well, I can't find a way to make it direct hiragana entry). It's automated translation of romaji -> hiragana which isn't what I'm after (i.e I type は using the index finger of my left hand, rather than trying to juggle switching my thinking to romaji, typing 'ha' and then letting the software switch that to は while my brain moves back to thinking in hiragana).

I can't seem to find a way on Zorin that allows me to type directly as hiragana input (ibus-kana allows direct typing in katakana but doesn't seem to have an Eisu key, or an abiity to switch input to hiragana and then to continue typing in hiragana)

I also can't find a way that allows for the full use of a Japanese keyboard in the way it's meant to be used (Capslock/Eisu, Non-Conversion/Conversion, Hiragana/Katakana/Romaji keys working and allowing me to type and switch in the way I'm used to. e.g being able to switch between using the '3' key to enter '3', or '#', or 'あ', or 'ア' as I need)

Is anybody able to offer any advice on this? Preferrably pitched at a level for the complete beginner at Zorin that I am?

Thank you!

I'm thinking that the person who could answer this question the best, would be an expert on their own software. @AZorin Any idea on how this person can do this?