How do I boot 2nd distro I installed on my Zorin machine?

Hi,

I first installed and updated Zorin as the only distro on my machine.

Then I shut down, installed another distro, and shut down again.

Now, when I reboot the machine Zorin loads automatically - without giving me an option to boot into the other distro.

How do I fix this? I mean fix it so I can choose which distro to boot into?

I'm totally new at this. Any help would be much appreciated.

~ Jeff

___ Edited to add ___

Further research suggests something like this might work. But having already borked one machine trying to set up a persistent usb, I'd like to get some confirmation/advice before trying it out. :stuck_out_tongue:

#GRUB_DEFAULT=0
GRUB_TIMEOUT_STYLE=menu
GRUB_TIMEOUT=15
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=`lsb_release -i -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""

You may also need to go into the bios and make sure that the other distro is listed there. You may be able to fix it without editing the grub by running boot repair on the second distro. Changing the grub timeout to 15 secs will give you more time to choose distros, if it's listed. One will always be set to default and automatically boot into it after the timeout. Make sure to run sudo update-grub after making changes to grub.

Those changes will not trash your system.

Yes if you boot into Zorin and

sudo update-grub

In Terminal it should pickup the other distro by stating

"Found Linux2 on sda#"

Next time you boot this should show up in GRUB menu.

Thanks 337harvey.

When I tried to save the grub file before rebooting, I was told it was read-only.

I tried right-clicking on the Folder & File in the GUI, but this did not give me the option of opening them as root.

Is there some way in the Zorin GUI to open folders & files as root?

Thanks swarfendor437,

I could not save the grub file (see above) but ran sudo update-grub anyway.

It seemed to recognise the Manjaro distro ok as sda3.