How do I disable built-in WiFi adapter so that I can use new USB adapter?

Subject is self-explanatory. I have an older laptop with a pretty slow internal WiFi adapter and I just purchased an external USB one that I would like to use instead. How do I go about that?

Keep in mind I don't want to disable the internal adapter via BIOS, but I'm certain there's a way to do this in Linux; I'm just very new to it. This is a multi-boot laptop and on Windows, all I had to do was open Device Manager, find the internal adapter, right-click and hit Disable. Done.

I found this link very helpful, wireless - How to disable built-in Wi-Fi and use only USB Wi-Fi card? - Ask Ubuntu

I also had to use the USB wifi dongle when i first started with Zorin, and even now i plug it in and select which wifi i want to use via settings, wifi and it connects like that. I didn't have an issue with double wifi

1 Like

Coincidentally, I did find that post when searching before posting here, but, like I said, I am pretty new to Linux (not just Zorin OS) and, first of all, I don't believe I have that interfaces file under /etc/network. I figured I could create it, but I also noticed the part that reads "Replace wlan0 with the interface you want to disable" and I don't even know how to determine that, so I gave up on that thread and decided to ask here.

What do you mean you select which WiFI you want to use via settings? I remember also checking the WiFi settings in Zorin OS and I don't recall seeing anything where you could select the hardware you want to use. I am logged into Windows on the same laptop right now, but I can double-check, confirm and post a screenshot later.

Thank you!

The /etc/network/interfaces file comes already present in Zorin OS.
To add the line needed quickly and easily, you can use Nano in the terminal:

sudo nano /etc/network/interfaces

You will use this command after determining your Wifi ID below...