How to install windows alongside zorin os ? or install windows on external harddrive while on Zorin OS?

Hi members, I am new to linux OS and for some reason i have to use some windows applications. Can somebody guide me installing windows on external drive or alongside zorin? I have created windows bootable usb using ventoy. Thank You

Moved to General Help.

Hello @amrittiwarie,
If you want to use windows applications that won't run on Zorin OS, then you can use a Virtual Machine and install Windows on it preferably Windows 7.

However, if you still want to dual boot then you would need not only a Windows bootable USB but a Zorin bootable USB also.
First, create some free space to install Windows using the disks utility or gparted.

sudo apt install gparted

After you created the free space, you can turn off your PC and insert the Windows bootable USB. Remember that, to boot from the USB you will need to put 'removable media' at the top of boot order in the BIOS settings.

Once you successfully boot into the Windows Installer, you can follow the on-screen steps. Remember to create a NTFS partition using the free space that you created earlier and select this partition while you install Windows.

Windows should install normally and it will ask you to setup Windows after the installation. After, setting up Windows, you will be able to access Windows but remember that GRUB won't appear anymore when you turn on your computer again and it will boot directly into Windows even though you have Zorin OS installed. This is because the Windows bootloader has overwritten the GRUB bootloader. Boot using the Zorin OS bootable USB to fix the GRUB. Then, click 'Try Zorin' when the Zorin OS installer opens. Now install boot-repair utility to fix GRUB.
Open the terminal and enter:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:yannubuntu/boot-repair

sudo apt update

sudo apt install boot-repair

Now launch boot-repair