How to remove a software from the Start menu?

Hey there, I downloaded Telegram software from their website and extracted the files. There were two files - Telegram and Updater.
I doubled clicked the Telegram file and it opened the software. Also, it added the Telegram software to the “Start menu”(I’m sorry if it’s another name). I want to remove the software now. How can I do that?

Try sudo apt remove telegram in the terminal.
Or you can use the Synaptic Package Manager to search for and remove it.

I tried both. In the terminal after that code, it gives me this error :

E: Could not get lock /var/lib/dpkg/lock-frontend - open (11: Resource temporarily unavailable)
E: Unable to acquire the dpkg frontend lock (/var/lib/dpkg/lock-frontend), is another process using it?

And in SYNAPTIC, it only has the option to "Mark for installation".
I'm a newbie to this. Hope you can understand.

Does telegram show up in your System Monitor (Utilities category) under Processes tab? If so, try to right click and kill it there and then see if you can run the terminal remove command.

I think the problem is the software is not installed on the computer. It just have a shortcut in the start menu. The software is located in the downloads folder. It's like running a portable version of a software but with a start menu shortcut.

I tried again and here's the response -

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package telegram

It could be a snap package, in which case use sudo snap remove telegram as mentioned here: https://askubuntu.com/questions/819521/how-to-remove-telegram