I need antivirus in Zorin OS 16 Core?

Hi guys, I'm new to Linux and Zorin, I'm come to Windows 11. Can you please tell me if I need to have an antivirus? Which do you recommend I use, if necessary? I use my computer for the basics: Internet browsing (Google Chrome), multimedia, and office automation. I have a lot of old files that I don't want to lose. Hug. (Translated with Google Translate)

Hola chicos, soy nuevo en Linux y en Zorin, vengo de Windows 11. ¿Me pueden decir por favor si es necesario tener antivirus? ¿Cuál me recomiendan usar, en caso de ser necesario? Uso mi equipo para lo básico: Navegación por internet (Google Chrome), multimedia, y ofimática. Tengo muchos archivos antigüos que no quiero perder. Abrazo.

Hi. I think that no, because there are just few viruses that affects linux and linux is very safe and everything is on your control. For example: every time you install software linux asks for password to ensure that YOU are installing that software.

3 Likes

Much of security rides on the user. Make wise decisions and remain alert and cautious.

I would say you do not need antivirus software on Linux. But there are many options available for private browsing, port security, identity protection and net surfing for those who prefer more peace of mind.

Generally, I do not use any antivirus on my daily driver running Zorin OS. It uses more resources than it is worth...
Another of my rigs, though, is like an internet stealth tank. It depends on application. :wink:

4 Likes

Cat Sup GIF

No anti-virus required, Linux is inherently much more secure then Windows. There are no back doors into your system on Linux, like there are on Windows, and there is no data mining being done on you, like there is on Windows.