I want my mic to transit sound clearly while using video programs like Skype and Zoom

Hi Zorin Community.

I am an art teacher and I need to connect with my students over Zoom. The only trouble is that when I talk on Zoom, my voice comes out very garbled. It also happens with the Google Groups video chat, Skype, etc. I can hear the sound from the person I am talking with fine. But they have trouble hearing me. I tested this with a friend, and heard the garbled sound for myself.

I am using a Lenovo Yoga 710 from 2016. It doesn’t seem to be the mic since when I record in Audacity, it sounds good. I was wondering if this is an issue with the Linux kernel or with Ubuntu? Lenovo issued a BIOS update, as well as an audio update in 2018. Not sure how to apply them since they are for WIndows.

I have been using Zorin for a couple years and love it, so I hope to get to the bottom of this issue.

Thank you for your help.

First things first- Check if you have both Alsamixer and Pulseaudio installed. If you have both - Bear in mind - it is better to have only One on some machines. They can, on occasion, conflict with eachother.

Applying a BIOS update:
https://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/update-lenovo-bios-from-linux-usb-stick-pen/
The steps in the above guide may not be Exact for your Model- so we may need to adapt them.
You can ignore the wget command in the above guide- download the BIOS Update from the page you linked.
Then you can install the Bootable media extractor- though I believe it comes with Zorin preinstalled:

sudo apt install genisoimage

The guide suggests using blkid to find the USB and dd to write the media. However, dd can be a bit dangerous... You can plug your USB in and then use unetbootin

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:gezakovacs/ppa

sudo apt install unetbootin

to write the bootable media to your USB using unetbootin, instead.
After that, reboot and boot into the USB.