I'm connected to Wifi, yet I'm not?

So I've been using Zorin OS for a few weeks, and I really like it! However today, I opened my computer and it wouldn't turn on at all. I force shut it down and then started it back up, but now the wifi refuses to work. I'm connected to the wifi, but if I search up anything, it doesn't work. I'm still new to Linux so I might be a bit confused when typing in commands in the terminal. I researched everywhere but it still doesn't work. I also found a forum that said it could have something to do with a VPN? I did use ProtonVPN but when the internet stopped working, I uninstalled the VPN because I thought it was broken, (which is how i found out that my wifi didn't work after).

Hello, it could be many things but lets see if its recognised in the system;

lshw -C network
lspci

It pops up with the network. I'm reading the network details, and I see ethernet interface. I'm not connected to an ethernet though.

1 Like

If you are unable to provide some system information. I can only help you with some basic causes for WiFi turning off.:smiley: :

1. Check if Bluetooth was enabled. (WiFi and Bluetooth give a very bad experience when working together on Linux OS)

2. Proton V.P.N has nothing to do with WiFi problems after a proper uninstall. You may check the internal V.P.N Software of Linux is turned off.

3. People living in smart homes also have problems with poor WiFi, You may try to move closer to your access point or try upgrading your WiFi adapter and internet modem or start using Ethernet Cables.

4. Overloading of P.C. with useless applications especially in Notebook Laptops may be the cause of your slow boot-up problem and WiFi stopping. So, remove as many useless applications as you can.

5. If you messed up with some internet settings using online content, you might wanna undo that to previous settings. Even Removing your internet Adapter from Configuration will cause a problem.