Installation issues for low vision user

Hello,

I'm a beginner to linux. I'm trying to install Zorin OS Lite on my Dell Inspiron N7110 laptop but am having issues. I'm a low vision person and prefer using a magnifier + high contrast + screen reader in my daily workflow. I've read in the help files that Zorin OS has Orca installed and that it can be run during installation which would be quite useful for me. Unfortunately, I can't seem to start Orca at all. The only way I managed was to open the terminal and run "orca" command which makes it run only in terminal and only until I press CTRL+C. I tries pressing the Super+ALT+S and other key combinations but nothing works.

Any help would be appreciated.

Best regards,

Otoman

Hi Otoman,

Welcome. I am currently downloading Lite to run as a VM to see if there are any shortcuts I can utilise in live mode. If I struggle, I will let you know and advise of an alternative OS. How much RAM is in the machine? is it an i3 or i5 processor?

OK, so I downloaded the Zorin 16 Lite iso and ran in a VM - no joy when starting orca via the command:

orca --setup

The same for devuan_chimaera_4.0.0_amd64_desktop-live.iso

So I had to reboot into Feren OS as I can install Multisystem in Devuan but not run it! So I added the Zorin Lite image to my Multisystem thumb drive that also has the devuan image stated above. With Zorin Lite there was a brief crackle from Orca then nothing. With Devuan live however, running that command gave me Orca's interface with sound from the get go via terminal in live mode. I did not try and run the installer after this point, just wanted to see if orca could run in live mode, and it does. The .iso is half the size of Zorin Lite, 1.2 Gb in size and also runs xfce desktop environment. The email client is 'mutt' which is a terminal based mail client. I think the browser is Chromium - forgot to check while running! If you want to give Devuan a try, the live .iso is available from this link: