Installing the .NET framework fails in Zorin OS 17

Good morning.

I'm new in Zorin OS, and I installed Keepass 2 program to manage my passwords, but when I try to use it, this advise appear:

"A newer .NET Framework is required".

I tried to install .NET framework directly from Microsoft guide (Instalación de .NET en Debian - .NET | Microsoft Learn) and every command worked perfectly, but the advice is still appearing. Please, can you help me to make it work?

I really want to work with Zorin OS but I need Keepass2. Please, ask me if you need some extra information.

Thank you in advance.

Hi,

How did you install Keepass? I'm not finding it in the Software Store.

As for .NET, Zorin OS is based on Ubuntu 22.04 so you'd need to follow these instructions:

Make sure to use the tabs at the top to select the appropriate version of .NET that you need, in case version 8 is not suitable (I haven't checked which one KeePass2 uses), but this one installs fine.

Good morning.

I downloaded the software from this link, Debian -- Details of package keepass2 in sid, this is the link that Keepass2 recommends. I'm going to follow your guide, and if it doesn't work, I will post the update.

Thank you in advance.

The KeePass2 documentation page suggest to install this package using APT. You can easily do this by running:

sudo apt install keepass2

This will give you the appropriate package, tested and compatible with your version of Zorin OS. The link you shared is for Debian Sid, which is the development version of Debian and thus uses different library versions than what Zorin OS supports. This would explain the error message you received.

As an alternative, I would suggest trying KeePassXC. It runs natively on all Linux, MacOS and Windows and supports the same database format as KeePass2 so you could migrate all your passwords without issues.

sudo apt install keepassxc

Good afternoon again.