Installing Zorin 17 on Second Drive where Windows 11 is on First Drive

I have a laptop which has two separate SSD drives. a 256GB drive which has Windows 11, and an empty 64GB empty SSD drive. I also have a bootable USB with Zorin Core 17 on it.

I am completely new to Linux but would like to keep Window on its existing drive and add Zorin to the currently empty drive.

I have read some forum answers about this, but I'm still worried I may accidentally delete Windows 11.

Can anyone provide step-by-step instructions on how to install Zorin to the separate drive for someone completely new to Linux, or point me in the right direction to already published easy to understand instructions?

Just to be clear, I don't want to install Zorin alongside the existing Windows 11, I do want to install Zorin on one drive where Windows 11 is on a different drive on the same laptop.

Thank you for any help

Dick

The easiest way to do this is to remove the SSD that has Windows on it so you can do a clean install of Zorin on the Empty SSD. After you have installed Zorin, replace the SSD with Windows on it. Next, go into the BIOS to select the Zorin drive to boot from. Once in Zorin, update GRUB so that it picks up Windows. Open a terminal and enter:

sudo update-grub

An issue you will come up against is a time error of 1 hour between Windows and Linux. To resolve this issue:

This has turned out to be really easy, even for someone completely new to Linux.

I managed to find step-by-step instructions for dual booting two separate drives, the first with Windows 11 already on it, and the second to be used for a new install of Linux. This worked for me, and the full instructions are at How to Dual Boot Windows 11 and Linux on Separate Hard Drives