Mic and Camera problems on Zorin

Hello, I'm new to Linux and I would like to see if anyone can help me out with a problem.
Recently, I moved from Windows 10 to Zorin OS 15 Core and I'm loving it, but my internal mic and camera aren't functioning properly. The mic is noisy and muffled. When I connect an external mic, the noise is gone but the sound is still muffled/low. The camera is too dark. I can change its settings in the apps Cheese and Qtcam, but when I do videocalls the image gets darker again. I haven't tried using an external webcam yet because I don't have one.

My laptop is the Asus s500cA. I spoke to a friend who told me it's probably a driver issue. I don't know how to change that though. I found these Asus dowload/support options: S500CA - Support

If anyone can help me, I would be very grateful because I am a teacher and I need to have quality videocalls. Otherwise, I think I'll have to change OS again.

Luciana

This seems like an issue with the application you're using for video calls. Which application are you using? If there is installation required, what steps did you do to install the application? Can you test on a different videoconferencing application and let us know the outcome?

1 Like

Thanks for your reply!
It does happen in different applications. I've already tried using Jitsi, Google Meet and Zoom. What gets better is the brightness of my image when using Cheese and Qtcam, because I can edit the video settings. But video recordings in these apps also have low voice sound and loud noise results. When I use video conference apps I get both problems: dark video (I can't edit the image) and terrible mic. When I connect an external mic, there is a difference: no noise, but the voice sound is as low and muffled as when using the internal mic.
If you have any other ideas on what the issue might be, please let me know.

Could you please open a terminal.
In terminal, run

alsamixer

Ensure nothing is muted.