Moving from the Known to the Unknown

I was born in the 80s, so I did not have much more than MS-DOS. After that windows came. So I have been using the same os for about 30 years if not more just new versions. After debating if I should make the change, I eventually did. I am not bad-mouthing Microsoft as I think it's still a fantastic os but the last time I really enjoyed it was Windows 7 and Windows 98 SE.

About a week or so ago. Windows refused to detect my SSD, not resetting or wanting to install it. I knew it was not an SSD problem. So that let me decide that I would give Linux a chance. I went on Google and searched for a Linux that would fit my need. So I came on a site that said zorin os is the best os when you come from a different platform.

So after about a week, I am very impressed. Yes, it can be hard at times as a lot of things have to be run through the terminal but I got the network working through Samba. I got my server set up yesterday. Sadly my 2006 AMD 4600+ didn't want to install any Linux except Mint. I also did what my previous os did and did not unlock it was my games folder. Also, AMD said they fixed their drivers to run faster Opengl. On my previous os, I could not run my emulators cause OpenGL was too slow. Now I play either ps 2 games in 1080p or 4k and I only have an RX 470. I parked my Ryzen for upgrades and my I7 blew 2 caps.

So I am sitting with an A8-3870K and it runs like a F1 car in Linux. I mainly use it for work like website development, remote access for training clients, or helping them set up their computers. I had a client last week that never really used a laptop. I took him through all the steps and made his computer as easy as possible. I did not charge him because he never worked on a computer. As a business owner, you have to be honest and loyal. If I took money from him, how would he ever learn?