My personal shallow and naive opinion on ZorinOS (comparing against Mint) after brief usage

I'm currently a newbie Linux Mint 20.2 user (tinkered for many years, but only made the switch last month), and have been testing out ZorinOS (Core 16 & Lite 15.3). The main motivation is due to a cousin of mine having a really slow laptop, and I would like to breathe it to life. While Windows 10 LTSC is an option, I'm pretty skeptical about its security (only an update every 2 years?) and well, Linux is free, Windows LTSC isn't.

Disclaimer: I've only used ZorinOS Core & Lite for about a week in vmware, so feel free to correct me on where I am wrong about. Also this post is just my personal fun, naive and shallow opinion, so please do not harbour any strong feelings :sweat_smile:

After using ZorinOS for awhile, here's my naive impression on what I think ZorinOS developer wants to achieve:

• A fast, stable, secure, friendly and modern alternative to the big consumer OSes (Windows & Mac)

And what (in my opinion) ZorinOS is NOT trying to be:

• A beginner's entry to Linux.

In my opinion, this is quite apparent in Core 16. The default gnome customization, themes and icons are really beautiful and modern looking. Compared to Linux Mint, which looks really dated. Also, the settings in ZorinOS Core have a very "sandboxed" feels. Almost everything are under the Settings app, similar to how mobile (both Android & iOS) handles their settings. Due to this "sandboxed" feeling, it makes it really easy to change them to see how the users see fit, and the settings are very organized.

Of course everyone is free to modify ZorinOS outside of the sandboxed settings, by installing third party software or using terminal. But Linux Mint has more of these exposed in a GUI (theme section completely exposed in flagship cinnamon). However, Mint's settings are alot more cluttered - spread across multiple apps.