Need help deleting one of two installations of Zorin

I have a laptop with Windows 10, and two installs of Zorin 16 os. I would like to delete (or uninstall) the last install of Zorin, and reclaim the HD space, without rendering my laptop unbootable. I want it back the way it was before the second Zorin install. Step by step instructions would be appreciated. I am new to Linux, and never been in a forum before.

You can do this with Gparted using the Zorin LiveUSB.

Boot up in the installation Medium LiveUSB.
You cannot alter a mounted partition.

Launch Gparted from the app menu.
Select the partition that holds the Zorin OS instance you want removed.
Click the (-) delete button to remove that partition.
Click the Apply Button.
Now right click the Zorin OS partition you wish to keep and select "move/Resize".
Use the slider to expand the partition into the free space you just created.
NOTE: Partitions must be adjacent to eachother or touching otherother in order to expand into each other.
Once complete Do Not Reboot (and pray for clear weather); you must reinstall grub.
Open a terminal and run

sudo apt-add-repository ppa:yannubuntu/boot-repair

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt install -y boot-repair

boot-repair

5 Likes

Maybe a learn moment for me now, but why using Gparted live and not from within the OS ?

Because you cannot repair the car while it is running.
You can only change partition externally, not within the running system.

3 Likes

Yes i understand that part. But he/she has 2 zorin installs and he/she wants to delete the last one. So if he/she boot in the first one then the second one is not running right ?

1 Like

Ah, OK.
If that is the case, he can do that safely from other Zorin installation.

1 Like

Agreed, but I believe it is better to not stand on the object that you are moving. You can (and I have) done it that way. But if you have never done it before, it is best to approach the least risky method possible.
More;