New install - black screen - dual boot Windows 10

Hi all - I am completely new to Linux, and wanted to try using Zorin OS as a dual boot with Windows 10. I have an HP Spectre x360 (2018, with 8th gen core i5, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD).

I managed to shrink the Windows C drive by 30GB to give room for an install (using the instructions here), and followed the instructions here to create a bootable USB drive. I managed to boot to this (disabling secure boot in BIOS), and used the "try" option. This booted fine from USB, I enjoyed the desktop experience, and so proceeded to do an install of Zorin OS Core, just using the default settings from the wizard (as I don't know anything about different partitions and sizes). This all seemed to be successful.

However, after I then restarted my PC, I have so far been unable to boot to Zorin OS at all. In the bootloader, if I select "Zorin OS", it just loads a black screen. If I use recovery mode, it shows the two lines "Loading linux 5.11.0-38 generic..." and "Loading initial ramdisk...", and then just hangs. Secure boot is still disabled in BIOS, and fast start-up is disabled in Windows.

Selecting the Windows bootloader does work, and I can still boot into Windows 10.

I would be very grateful for any suggestions - as I say, I am completely new to this, so your patience is appreciated!

Hi and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:
I think your machine has NVidia card and might need to edit grub.
For example:

1 Like

Hi, and thanks for replying so quickly! As far as I am aware, my laptop only has integrated Intel graphics, and no Nvidia graphics. I have tried editing the Grub parameter to include "nomodeset" after and before "quiet splash", and in each case it still just went through to the black screen.

2 Likes

My guess was wrong :frowning:
I think we have to escalate the case to the volunteers who are more familiar with graphics card related issues.
@StarTreker do you have any idea?

1 Like