New install. Can't write to my data drive

Zorin OS 16 just installed. I mostly love it but I cant delete or rename files on my data drive. Formatted NTFS. Am I lacking a permission or something? I am a Linux novice.

It was a mistake to use NTFS partitioning, as that is really only for Windows.

What you want to do, is format the drive Using GPT, if the drive is only being used to boot a Linux OS. If you are going to dual boot, MBR/DOS is acceptable.

You want your drive partition to be EXT4. Once you have the drive ready, install Zorin OS.

You really don't want to be using NTFS, there is far too much work involved trying to get that to play well with Linux.

EDIT: Here is also my GPARTED with great clarification.

Hope this helps...

1 Like

This is possible and you may need to change ownership of the drive, then try getting read/write access.

As Trekker points out, being formatted in ntfs is another possibility. But checking permissions is definitely the first step that I would take.

@TLDD Are you dual-booting Windows and Zorin and wish to access files from both OS?
That will also influence your choice of filesystem.

1 Like

Not dual booting. The data drive is separate from the OS drive. The drive mounts ok and I can open and play the music and etc but I can't delete or rename any files.

Thanks for responding. Let me clarify. My data drive is separate from the OS drive. I had been using Kubuntu for the last few months and could read and write to the data drive. Installed Zorin with a fresh format on the OS drive and now can not delete or rename files on the data drive. I can open and play the MP3's and JPG's ok. I seem to lack write permission. I have waded through settings but cant find anything that seems applicable.

Sounds likely. Please see my response to StarTreker.

Have you changed the ownership of the drive to you?

sudo chown $USER:$USER /media/$DRIVE

Change $USER and $DRIVE to the actual username and drive name.