New to install - cursor frozen

Hi - I’m new to Linux and walked through installing Zorin via a USB.

While it was booting from the USB, it seemed slow, so I (impatiently :-() tried exiting, and typed some characters during the process. After a short time the desktop appeared, but the cursor is frozen in the middle of the screen.

I’ve tried restarting the machine (HP pavillion laptop) and even removed the USB stick, but it’s stuck on the Zorin desktop image.

Thank you for any input or advice.

From the OP, it sounds as though the OS was not installed, but was being run on the USB as “Try Zorin.” Have I understood this correctly? You did not fully install Zorin?

That is correct.

Thanks

In that case, I would just wipe and rewrite the bootable medium, then boot it up and test it.

Thanks - I’ll do that.
Initially I couldn’t escape from the frozen window, even after rebooting. But after leaving the machine off for a couple days, I was able to open it to W10.
Hopefully I’ll get it right this next time. :wink:

Same problem. I can tab and F1 brings up the start menu, but the cursor does not move.

Is this a UEFI machine?
Does it currently have Windows 7 up to 10 installed?
Is secure boot enabled in the UEFI?
Is Windows set to Fast Boot?

Windows Fast Boot locks the drive, preventing access to it. It must be turned off to access the drive on another OS - However… I must be clear on this: I am not really sure if that would apply to Try Zorin on a USB or not. If it is, this would be the first I heard of it.
But that certainly is Not evidence that it doesn’t. So, it is worth disabling Fast Boot and seeing if that resolves.
Secure Boot- is very similar to above, except I have doubt that it would inhibit the USB Try Zorin. But it is possible… Datburned newfangled Windows additions…

Otherwise, whether or not Windows is currently installed on that computer- can you give the Specs on the HP Pavilion Notebook?