New user experience update

It's been about four months now since I put my Windows PC into the attic and began using Zorin full-time and... there's nothing to report. I switch on my PC, do stuff and then switch it off again at the end of the day. The OS does its job and doesn't bother me. Can't say fairer than that, can you? I'm glad I made the switch. I'm more than happy to support the Devs by buying the Pro version - it's well worth the modest outlay for something that I use on a daily basis, and being free of big corporate interference is a truely uplifting experience. Please keep up the good work.

12 Likes

As a developer myself, I can say that is often the best feedback you can get. Awesome to hear it has been a great experience for you. I bought the Pro version for the same reason. I and perfectly capable of setting it up in the same way, but I love supporting devs that make a difference.

5 Likes

Hey I do the same exact thing on Linux, Windows, and Apple. Also Android and iOS. Most operating systems work as intended. :v:t3:

1 Like

The difference with GNU/Linux is it does not data-scrape or sell on your details to third parties, nor does un-Googled Android. As someone stated on another GNU/Linux forum, "At least I know what is going on under the hood" - you can't attain that with other Operating Systems. Also with GNU/Linux you own the operating system, with others you just have a licence to run the OS, it is never yours.

1 Like

No one can guarantee this. There have been incidents of malicious code being merged into open source software.

Precisely, free software cannot be proprietary, not even by its developers.

1 Like