Newbie problems: Video conferencing, Skye/Duo etc

Hi there,

Really loving this Zorin lite. I was using Puppy on my old Atom Netbook but this one looks really nice :slight_smile:
Using it on a Toshiba NB510-115. Specs:
https://pt.dynabook.com/discontinued-products/toshiba-nb510-115/

So, i am having a few issues. The camera works fine on Cheese, but in Chromium using Google Duo it dosent recognize the camera.
Also i installed Skye from the repository but it dosent load. When i use the terminal and type “skype” nothing happens also.
The other minor thing is that the touch pad only work for movement, not for clicks. I have a mouse, so not a deal breaker.
Like i said, i am a newbie so i appreciate any help.

I plan to use this as a teaching machine for my 4yo and i think linux is the way to go. Already installed Gcompris and lots of old-school emulators (yes, its for the kids honey!!)

Best regards,
R.

Some manufacturers have a keyboard toggle that enables and disables the camera. For example fn+F6 or some other obscure combination.
Can you check your manufacturer and specs for such a toggle?

For Skype, the snap package is problematic. Are you using the snap version?
Recommended is the .deb file direct from Skype:
https://www.skype.com/en/get-skype/

Hi, You do know that there is Zorin Education Lite don’t you? That comes with GCompris in the .iso plus tons of other educational applications. :wink:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/zorin-os/files/15/Zorin-OS-15.3-Education-Lite-32-bit.iso/download

https://sourceforge.net/projects/zorin-os/files/15/Zorin-OS-15.3-Education-Lite-64-bit.iso/download

I does not have a camera fn. i will search some more.

Skype i am using the snap, i assumed that in linux its always best to use the built in tools. I will install this one and try again.

Thanks!

Hi,

I didnt know that :slight_smile: thanks.