Newby feedback on installing Zorin 16 core

I've recently been attempting to move from Windows 10 to linux. Came across Zorin, and I like it. I though you might be interested in what I found.

I'm a retired software engineer, and am happy to use the command line, but I do like the desktop environment too.

My zorin is installed on a 1TB nvme with two zfs pools, but not using the automatic zfs installation - I installed it on a regular drive and then transferred it to zfs, because I've found that zsys is buggy and doesn't reliably achieve what is was set out to do.

My biggest two complaints are sound devices and printers. I have a usb printer (Canon MX920 series) that is attached also on the LAN, resulting in two detected printers. Sometimes one works, sometimes the other, sometimes neither.

And then there's sound devices. Pulse appears to randomly change the default ("fallback") sound devices even though I'm not changing the hardware. Some applications support pulse audio very poorly (e.g. Audacity) and some very well (e.g. Zoom).

And then I have random crashes and freezes. I though linux was supposed to be more robust. But running Recoll (a document indexer) to index a 40GB document collection mounted via NFS fairly reliably causes the system to lock up - mouse moves, but no action, and can't ssh in. Indexing the collection locally, and copying it from NFS repeatedly doesn't cause a problem.

I was able to find substitutes for almost all my essential applications: digikam replaces faststone, Recoll replaces lookeen, libre office replaces Microsoft office. However, I do have one essential application that has to run on Windows and doesn't run on Wine. Therefore, I'm forced to continue to run Windows. I made a qemu-kvm virtual machine for the purpose and had to buy licenses for Windows and office to install it (couldn't move my old Windows machine to new virtualised hardware, even though I tried really hard).