No Audio on Zenbook Pro Duo

Hi I'm brand new to Zorin and Linux in general. Trying to make the switch away from Apple and Microsoft and I like Zorin so far but I can't get audio working on my new laptop. Weirdly the system settings sees the internal speakers and microphone. When I speak I can see the microphone meter bounce and when I play music from Spotify I can see the audio meter bouncing but I still can't hear anything. Volume of course is all the way up.

I have gone through several tips from forums trying to adjust settings in Alsa Mixer and using Pulse audio to make sure nothing is muted and volume is up. I've updated all the latest drivers. I tried everything from this blog post

When I boot up in Windows it works fine. I can hear everything but nothing in Zorin. Any help would be appreciated.

If you tried everything in alsamixer and pulseuadio, you could try with a more recent kernel and see if it fix the problem. It's a shot no guarantee.

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:tuxinvader/lts-mainline -y
sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade

First try with kernel 5.15

sudo apt-get install linux-generic-5.15

or the latest

sudo apt-get install linux-generic-5.16

reboot

1 Like

@Storm thanks for the help. I installed 5.15 still no audio. Then I installed 5.16 and now the machine has trouble booting. I'm having to boot Zorin with advanced options and choose 5.13 on boot in order to get things working. I tried uninstalling 5.16 kernal but its still not booting normally. And still no audio. I'm wondering if I should wipe the machine and try a fresh install of Zorin.

A clean install is quicker than figure out what went wrong and fix it.
What brand and spec of your audio card?

I did a fresh reinstall but still no audio. Wiped the whole drive just to be safe. The sound card is HDA Intel PCH Realtech ALC294. This may be the end of my Linux experiment if I can't get this working. :frowning: I need to be able to do video conferences for my job.